A Blank Canvas

I have been here since past 24 hours. These walls are blank and white, my eyes have got bored and used to this light. I feel I am hallucinating, I can see impressions on it, some yellow patches. Maybe this is all because of staring at the blank a long time. I feel someone is watching me, I can hear them calling my name, but I have no idea what my name is, all I can feel is the strong intuition of these people connected to me. How much time has passed? I have no idea, it still feels hours. I feel old, my bones feel aged but I know it has just been a day. I don’t know how I did end up here locked with no way to escape. I feel cold and shivers run down my spine, but there are no windows or door, this cold air makes me feel sick and nausea. I think I will never escape this place.

Beep. Beep. Beep.                                                                                     

This sound has been humming in my ears since a long time, I feel I am surrounded with it. I try to scream, in a desperate hope that maybe someone may hear me. But I can’t utter a word. I can’t hear my own voice. I just feel lost and unexpected. I don’t know what is the time. It just feels like a long hour has passed, I feel old hence again. The yellow patch grows intense. And I can count on two conclusions either I am losing my mind, and imagining things or the yellow patch is really present there.

Come back, please.

I hear a pleading voice, as if someone is calling me. The voice sounds familiar but I can’t recognize it.  I stress up my mind, thinking thoughtfully what it means, what I am and all I get is blank. A white canvas. And now it seems getting darker. I don’t know who I am. I don’t know how did I get here. The walls suffocate me. The white suffocates me. I wish to escape. Even. Even if I have to die. I have no one to talk to. I have no one to share my emotions to. I am alone. And I realize I never ever wanted to be this isolated ever in my life.

I see some light, some smoke, some fog. I see someone, a smile. Those eyes. I hear laughter. I feel a warmth in my hand. As if someone was clutching it tightly never allowing me to go. My eyes wander aimlessly at the corners of wall. They are getting red. Blood red. It is dripping down to the walls. I freeze. My mind wanders but I am here rooted on the spot. I look at myself, my feet fading. I was shining luminously, I was fading in this thin air. I don’t have any idea what is happening to me.

‘RUN’, my mind screams.

My conscience asks me to break through the walls somehow and jump. And maybe this is my last chance. I take a few steps back. Something was pounding heavily in my chest but its not my heart. I was faint. But I run. I run with all the strength left in my body. I run and pace my speed towards the blooding wall. I know I am crazy, but sometimes, we must listen to our conscience. And this time, I was listening to it. Never have I thought of it. I run. And I collide in the wall? Do I? maybe. Or maybe not. I had closed my eyes tightly and wrapped my arms around my chest to avoid getting much hurt. But I have stopped caring,

BAM

I see darkness around me, as I pass out.

I feel my pulse rising and I wake up, greeted by the familiar face, little pale and swollen. Those cheeks had trails of tears.

Beep. Beep.

This time, the beeping sound doesn’t suffocate me. It gives me life.

“I love you”, he says, with tears welling up in my eyes. I see those crystals in his eyes. He is mine, I know it somewhere in my mind. And he saved me.

Leave a comment