Demons.

To the demon under my bed,
I know about you, and I know that every night when I sleep you crawl out to see me sleeping. You might wonder how do I know this, well one day when I was tossing and twisting in my bed due to insomnia, I caught your glimpse staring at me. I agree at first, I was scared and thought of exorcising you, but then soon I realized your importance in my life. You had been there always for me, you watched over me when I got my heartbroken for the first time and my family didn’t know. You watched over me when I was high and my mother slapped me for that. You watched me when I ran over that old guy who used to stalk me every day, I still wonder if they found his body yet. And remember that night when I brought two glasses of wine in my room? I lied that I had someone over, it was for you. For the demon under my bed.
Lately, I had grown tired of everything in my life. I even thought of taking the knife and oozing out my life, but then I thought of you. If I left, you’d be alone, like I was. I didn’t want to abandon you as my family did. I changed home but always knew that you’re going to come back to me, no matter where I go. Remember that night when I brought over that drunk man? I know you saw me cubing his body, and I know you smiled. I know you were proud of me, and I was elated. Let me tell you a secret, they still haven’t caught the killer.
Am I making it too long for you to read? I know you hate reading. So I’ll be keeping my pen down. I’d just love to say, thank you for being my only constant in life.
P.S. Be ready for another of your meal tonight.
Love,
You know me well.

Leave a comment